Saturday, 24 March 2018

Relational Clauses: Principal Types

Halliday & Matthiessen (2014: 263):
The English system operates with three main types of relation — ‘intensive’, ‘possessive’ and ‘circumstantial’; and each of these comes in two distinct modes of being — ‘attributive’ and ‘identifying’.

Blogger Comment:

Note that the three types of relation are manifestations of the 'fractal types' of expansion and projection:
  • intensive: elaboration
  • possessive: extension
  • circumstantial: enhancement (except matter: projection)